sondheimmcgeek: (Default)
[personal profile] sondheimmcgeek
*groans* I'm not feeling too good.

Last night was my grandparents' 50th anniversary dinner. We went out to Commander's Palace. That has got to be the fanciest place I've ever been. The waiters pull out your chair and place your napkin on your lap for you. If you get up to go to the bathroom or something, no matter what they are doing, they form an open path for you. While you're gone, they come to the table and re-fold your napkin.

I ended up ordering the Soup Du Jour (lamb and lentil), the rack of lamb, and the bread pudding souffle. *drools* I hadn't eaten anything all day, so I was prepared to eat anything.

Of course, part way through the meal, my mom, my brother, and I got into a discussion about grammar. My mom and I said one thing and he said another. It got to the point where he started speaking slowly to me as though i were an idiot (something he does often and it pisses me off).

It escalated into a heated arguement with him finally leaving the table (muttering under his breath "...my fault she's acting like an idiot") and I started crying.

My brother, for whatever reason, as been doing this for the past month or so. He acts like he's superior to me because he's four years older. He talks to me the way one would talk to a child. He finds everything I say humorous and feels the need to mock it. He questions every fucking thing I do.

"Why are you wearing a jacket?"

What the fuck kind of question is that? Why do you usually wear a jacket? Maybe because I find it cold!

"Why the fuck are you taping the Tony awards? I mean, what's up with that?"

Why the fuck do you tape things? I mean, I usually do it so I can watch it again if I ever so choose. Why do you even care?

"Why the hell do you want to go to Italy?"

*screams* Why must you question everything I say or do? I want to because I fucking want to. Why do want to act like such an asshole all the time? Why can't you pick up the dirty towels after taking a shower? Why do you leave your dirty clothes EVERYWHERE? Why do you feel the need to ruin your lungs by sucking on cancer sticks?

I hated that I was ruining my grandparents' night, but I can't help it when I start crying. Of course, he leaves and I end up being the one who gets reprimanded.

I was ok once I calmed down. When my brother came back, he sat where my Paw-Paw had been sitting (when I started to cry he came over and sat by me). I did my best to avoid making eye contatc with him the rest of the night. I kept any responses to him short with a minimum of maybe 5 words.

Oh, one thing! The Bread Pudding Souffle is to die for!

On the way home, I was still very emotional about everthing that had happened. As my dad entered the interstate, he had crossed into the other lan slightly. When my mom told him he had done this, he made a comment which I didn't hear. I did, however, hear the word "Colleen." My mom asked him what he said and he told her "Oh, I was poking fun at her." My mom didn't think this was the time or place for him to do that. She was right.

I don't suually let what my dad says get to me because I know he's only joking. But on top of everything else I was feeling, it just worsened it and I started crying (silently) again. When my parents asked me if I was ok, I said I didn't want to talk about it. This didn't stop them from continuing to ask me about it. *groan*

My brother apologized to me when we got home. I don't want an apology. I want to talk about everything. But that's not going to happen. If I bring something up, I get yelled at. If I don't get a chance to let it out, I end up breaking down and screaming at everyone (and yes, this has happened).

This morning I found out that something happened when my dad re-installed Windows yesterday. Everything that was in my e-mail inbox is now gone. This goes for any unread mail also, so if you sent me something recently, you may need to send it again. Also, my favorites are completely wiped out. Meaning I have to start from scratch. Again. *groan*

This just isn't my weekend.

Date: 2005-06-26 06:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/tourniquet__/
The same things have happened to me too, so I know where you're coming from. I absolutely despise it when something happens, and it's not your fault, yet you're the one who gets the blame for it all. >.< Feel better^_^

Date: 2005-06-26 08:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] schizophrenic0.livejournal.com
Thanks. I do feel a little better :)

Date: 2005-06-26 10:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] knight-of-fire.livejournal.com
it must be the time of year when everyone gets on everyone elses' nerves... i guess with it being summer and everyone's at home more often... *shrugs* anyways, hope you're feeling better and sorry to hear that all happened. *hugs colleen* (and bread pudding sounds oddly good right now... hehe)

January 2013

S M T W T F S
  1234 5
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios