sondheimmcgeek: (created by the4tre_phre4k)
[personal profile] sondheimmcgeek
I'd like to extend my deepest sympathies to Jennifer Aniston for being the first woman ever to be cheated on by her husband and then get a divorce...

At least that's how it seems based on the coverage the story keeps getting.

Ok. We get it. She and Brad broke up. I'm sorry that their marriage failed. I'm sorry when any marriage fails, but this isn't a rare occurence, especially not in Hollywood. They were married how long? It's been at least two years, hasn't it? That's one of the longer Hollywood marriages, I believe.

Why are we still hearing about it? Not to mention, why are we hearing about it as though it should be absolutely shocking to us that yet another Hollywood couple has gone kaput (yet heaven forbid we should be even slightly outraged at the way Paris Hilton's escapades as a sex kitten are setting women back 50 years). It isn't as though Jennifer is living on the side of the road in a cardboard box. She has money. She has a career. If you're going to write a piece on a divorced woman, why not find one who has 5 kids and has to have two part-time jobs to support them?

As long as I'm on my ranting spree, I'll continue. Yesterday, as I was getting dinner from the cafeteria, the boy in front of me was told he didn't have Flex dollars, only board meals. *Pause* Let me explain. The meal plan for the UC allows many combinations of Flex dollars and board meals. Flex dollars are just dollars you can use to purchase something from the cafeteria like a bag of chips or a pint of ice cream. The board meals are a little different. Instead of being given credit in the form of money, you're given credit in the form of meals. The cafeteria has people making hot meals and you can pile your tray and have it count as one board meal. *Play* So the guy in front of me had gotten a box rather than a tray, so that he could eat in his room (something I do often, and was doing yesterday as well). He was told that in putting it in a box he had to use flex dollars rather than board meals to cover it. He was allowed to get away with it this time, but as he left, one of the girls working began bitching about it saying "Don't tell me there isnt' a difference."

First of all, no one ever told me this, so I'm assuming the same went for him. Perhaps, to avoid having this happen, they should put up a sign. Second, I really don't see the difference. When you go to McDonald's, they don't charge extra to get your food to go. I understand people may pile gobs of food into there in an attempt to one up them, but it's a tiny box. You can't fit much in there. I've seen people pile more on there trays. Maybe I'm the one being unreasonable about this. Maybe I was just in a bad mood. *shrugs* Who knows?

Watched The Princess Bride last night because, it seems, Emily, Sarah, and G have never seen it.

Never.

Ever.

How is that possible? That is the universally accepted movie that you must see to have a complete life.

Also, one of the straps on my Audrey Hepburn purse broke. Oh well. It lasted me a good year and a half.

Date: 2005-10-13 11:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crazy-knight.livejournal.com
(concerning Princess Bride) I know! I all of the RAs that I work with if they've seen it and only 2 said they had. Who cares if its a kissy kissy love story, its got an ogre of a man and some sword-fighting in it. Its a sad day when good movies go unappreciated.

Date: 2005-10-14 07:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] alison24601.livejournal.com
Would also like to add to the general discontent of being surrounded by people who have not seen The Princess Bride (Wow, it's my favourite movie ever!) The saddest thing is that when people who haven't seen it hear the title they assume it's something not as fantastic as it is. Or else they confuse it with The Princess Diaries. . .

Date: 2005-10-15 01:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] anger-potential.livejournal.com
I guess we're all commenting on the Princess Bride (although I agree with the Jennifer stuff too).
I just had a friend last week who had never seen it and we had to stay up way too late to watch it. and just in case you'll get a kick out of it:
http://www.ringthis.com/tv_drinking_games/prinbrid.php

we used apple juice and m&ms, but still - fun.

Date: 2005-10-16 11:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] knight-of-fire.livejournal.com
I'd best go watch Princess Bride sometime then..... hehehe...

(btw, i completely agree with you. i hate all the emphasis they put on celebrities...)

actually, hang on. i think i have seen parts of it. can't remember a thing, but i have seen parts of it and have certainly heard good things about it.

January 2013

S M T W T F S
  1234 5
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:31 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios